Search in this Site

Search This Blog

Friday, June 14, 2013

9-1-1 National Symbols of India

The following are the national symbols of India -
1. National emblem - 
- National emblem was adopted by the Govt. of India on 26 Jan. , 1950.
- It is a replica of the Lion Capital of Ashoka's pillar at Saarnath.
- It has three visible lions and the fourth lion is hidden from the view.
- The wheel ( Dharm chakara ) is in the center of the abacus.
-The abacus has the scluptures of an elephant, a horse, a bull and a lion. Below the abacus, the words " Satyameva Jayate " are inscribed. These words are taken from the Mundaka Upanishad. The meaning of these words is ' Truth alone triumphs '.
2. National Flag -
- The national flag of India was adopted by the constituent Assembly of India on 22 July, 1947. - It is of tricolor. It has a deep saffron color strip at the top, the white is in the middle and the dark green is at the bottom.
- All the three strips are in equal proportions. The width and length ratio of the flag is two to three.
- In the center of the white strip there is a wheel in navy blue color. It has 24 spokes.
3. National Anthem - 
' Jan - Gan - Man ' is the national anthem of India.
- It was composed by the great poet Rabindra Nath Tagore.
- It was adopted at the National Assembly of India on 24 Jan. 1950.
- It was first sung on 27 Dec. 1911 during the Indian National Congress session at calcutta ( Kolkata )
- The anthem has five stanzas. The first stanza has the full version of its.
- The playing time of the full version of the anthem is about 52 seconds.
- The short version of the anthem which consists of the first and the last lines, is also played on certain occasions.
- The playing time of short version is about 20 seconds.
4. National Song - 
- ' Vande Mataram ' is the national song of India.
- It was composed in Sanskrit by Bankim Chandra Chatterji.
- It was first sung at the 1896 session of Indian National Congress.
- It has equal status with Jan - Gan - Man.
- It was the source of inspiration to the people in their struggle for freedom.
5. National Calendar - 
- The national calendar of India is based on Shaka Era.
- Its first month is Chaitra, which normally begins from 22 March and from 21 March in the Leap year.
- Its normal year is of 365 days.
- It was adopted as the national calendar on 22 March, 1957 along with the Gregorian Calendar.
6. National Flower - Lotus.
7. National Fruit - Mango.
8. National Tree - Banyan.
9. National Animal - Tiger.
10. National Bird - Peacock.
11. Nation River - Ganga.

Search This Blog

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...