Search in this Site

Search This Blog

Sunday, March 23, 2014

(10.1.22) Ghat Sthapana / Kalash Sthapana During Navaratra

The Process of Ghat Sthapana / Kalash Sthapana or How Ghat Sthapana is done during Navratra

What is Ghat Sthapana / Kalash Sthapana :- 
Ghat or Kalash means a pot made of clay or copper or silver or gold and Sthapana means 'to install or to establish'.Thus Ghat Sthapana or Kalash Sthapana is an act of installing or establishing a pot (Ghat / Kalash). Ghat Sthapana is also a prayer and invitation to goddess Durga to stay in the Kalash till the Navratra ends.
When to do Ghat Sthapana :- 
In all the four Navratra i. e. Vasant Nanratra , Shardiya Navratra , Aashadhi Gupt Navratra, Magh Gupt Navratra on the first day of Navratra / Navratri, Ghat Sthapana or Kalash Sthapana is done. The best time for doing Ghat Sthapana is morning. Due to some reasons if Ghat Sthapana is not done in the morning , it is done in the Abhijit Muhurat. For Ghat Sthapana , Chitra Nakshatra Vaidhriti Yog are avoided.
Where to do Ghat Sthapana :- 
For Ghat Sthapana, the best place in the house is the Eshyanya Kon i. e. the north east corner of the house. While choosing the place for Ghat Sthapana , it should be kept in mind that while performing Pooja the person should face east.
The process of Ghat Sthapana / How to do Ghat Sthapana :-
The person should get up early in the morning, have a bath, and clean the place of Ghat Sthapana. Make a Vedi of earth (sand) (the sand should be brought from the bank of the river or lake or from a clean place) and put the Kalash full of water, on the Vedi. Sow the seeds of barley in the sand around the Kalash. By the end of the Naratra ,these barley plants (known as Jaware) would grow up to four or five inches. These Jaware are given as Prasad to devotees and the members of the family.(Some people sow the barley seeds in a separate pot.) On the Kalash, mango leaves and coconut covered with a piece of red cloth are also placed. Ghat or Kalash Sthapana is the prayer and invitation to goddess Durga to stay in Kalash till the Nanratra ends.
Other Posts you will like to read :- 
(5.2.6) Vasant Navratra 
(5.2.9) Shardiya Navratra 
(5.2.10)Gupt Nanratra
(10.1.2) Navratra / Navratri (Festival)
(10.1.17) Nav Samwatsar
(10.1.32)Navratra Vrat Vidhi
(6.2.18) Names of Samwatsar / 60 Samvatsar and their Names

Search This Blog

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...