Search in this Site

Search This Blog

Thursday, March 20, 2014

(10.3.31) Names of Ekadashi / 26 Ekadashi and their Names

24 Ekadashi / 26 Ekadashi / Different Ekadashi and their Names

Ekadashi is considered as a very pious Tithi in Hinduism. It is the Tithi of observing fast and devotion. According to the Hindu calendar there are two Ekadashis in one month , of them one occurs in the Krishna Paksh and the other one occurs in Shukla Paksh. Thus there are 24 Ekadashis in one year. In the Adhik Maas there are two additional Ekadashi. Thus there are 26 Ekadashi in all and each of them has its own name and importance.
The names of the Ekadashis are as follows :-
1.Paapmochani Ekaadashi :- Chetra Krishna Ekadashi is known as  Paapmochani Ekadashi 
2. Kaamada  Ekaadashi :- Chetra Shukla Ekadashi is known as Kamada  Ekadashi
3. Varuthinee Ekadashi  :- Vaisakh Krishna Ekadashi is known as Varuthini Ekadashi
4. Mohini Ekadashi  - Vaisakh Shukla Ekadashi is known as Mohini Ekadashi 
5. Aparaa Ekadashi   - Jeshth Krishna Ekadashi is known as Apara Ekadashi
6. Nirjalaa   Ekadashi  -  Jeshth Shukla Ekadashi is known as Nirjala   Ekadashi
7. Yoginee Ekadashi  - Aashadh Krishna Ekadashi is known as Yogini Ekadashi 
8.Devshayani Ekadashi   - Aashadh Shukla Ekadashi is known as Devshayani Ekadashi 
9. Kamikaa Ekadashi   - Shravan Krishna Ekadashi is known as Kamika Ekadashi
10. Putradaa Ekadashi -  Shravan Shukla Ekadashi is known as Putradaa Ekadashi
11. Ajaa Ekadashi -  Bhadrapad Krishna Ekadashi is known as Ajaa Ekadashi
12.Padmaa Ekadashi  - Bhadrapad Shukla Ekadashi is known as Padmaa Ekadashi
13.Indiraa Ekadashi - Aashivin Krishna Ekadashi is known Indiraa Ekadashias Indiraa Ekadashi
14.Paapaankushaa Ekadashi - Aashivin Shukla Ekadashi is known as Papankusha Ekadashi 
15. Ramaa  Ekadashi  -  Kartik Krishna Ekadashi is known as Rama  Ekadashi
16. Prabodhini Ekadashi  - Kartik Shukla Ekadashi is known as Prabodhini Ekadashi
17.Utpannaa Ekadashi - Margshirsh Krishna Ekadashi is known as Utpannaa Ekadashi
18.Mokshadaa Ekadashi - Margshirsh Shukla Ekadashi is known as Mokshadaa Ekadashi
19. Safalaa Ekadashi -  Poush Krishna Ekadashi is known as Safalaa Ekadashi
20. Paush Putradaa Ekadashi  - Poush  Shukla Ekadashi is known as Putradaa Ekadashi 
21. Shatatilaa Ekadashi - Magh Krishna Ekadashi is known as Shatatila Ekadashi 
22. Jayaa Ekadashi -  Magh Shukla Ekadashi is known as Jaya Ekadashi
23.Vijaya Ekadashi -  Phalgun Krishna Ekadashi is known as Vijaya Ekadashi
24. Aamalkee Ekadashi - Phalgun Shukla Ekadashi is known as Aamalki Ekadashi
25. Padminee Ekadashi - Adhik Maas Krishna Ekadashi is known as  Padmini Ekadashi
26. Parmaa Ekadashi -  Adhik Maas  Shukla Ekadashi is known as Parma Ekadashi

Search This Blog

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...