Search in this Site

Search This Blog

Sunday, June 21, 2015

(6.4.6) Panchang (A Hindu calendar) what is Panchang

What is a Panchang

The word 'Panchang' is made up of two words i. e. 'Panch' and 'Ang'. The word 'Panch' means five and the word 'Ang' means parts or organs. Thus Panchang is set of five parts or five organs. The five organs or parts are - Tithi (a lunar date), Vaar ( week day), Nakshatra (constellation), Yog and Karan (a half of a Tithi).
1. Tithi - A Tithi is is the lunar day or date. There are thirty Tithis in a lunar month. Out of them, 15 Tithis are in the Shukla Paksh and the remaining fifteen are in the Krishna Paksh.
2. Vaar - A Vaar is a week day. There are seven Vaars in a week.
3. Nakshatra - In Vedic astrology, the zodiac is divided into 27 equal parts of 13 degrees and 20 minutes. Each division is called Nakshatra or constellation. Thus there are 27 Nakshatras.
4. Yog - There are 27 Yogs.
5.  Karan - Half of a Tithi is known as Karan. There are 11 karans.
Related Posts - 
(6.2.16) Tithi and their Lords (Devata)

Search This Blog

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...